Operational Boot Camp (tutorial)

Share your gameplay tips, secret tactics and fabulous strategies with fellow gamers here.

Moderators: Joel Billings, Sabre21

amatteucci

RE: Operational Boot Camp (tutorial)

Post by amatteucci »

Спасибо! / Danke! [:)]
AlesMrak

Post by AlesMrak »

Thank you, appriciated.

br.
Dr.Jones
Modding tools for TOW and IL2 series (archive extractor and 3d model converter)

Pford

Post by Pford »

Thanks, D. But I still suck at this game. I played Minsk and Leningrad on Normal six times: four draws and two (marginal) victories.
Zovs

Post by Zovs »

Thanks again everyone.

Pford, it takes a lot of time to get really good at this game. I have done turns 1-12 as the Axis probably no less then at least 100 times. I have run about fifty (50) 1943 campaign games ranging from 12 to 60 turns during testing both as Axis and Soviets (was helping test out the AI for both sides) over a three month period. I am still learning new things, and we just put in some new features of the game and I'll be testing those as well, it seems the testing never ends...lol

All I am saying is takes an awful lot of playings and time and for me at least a lot of mistakes to learn this game.

You gentlemen are lucky in the sense that you have a manual, a tutorial, the boot camp guide I created and all the testers on this forum to help you out (I mean this with the utmost sincerity). When I started testing a year ago the manual really was just a 40 page document stating the hot keys and how to do a hasty attack and deliberate attack the rest I had to ask or figure out on my own and as war gamer what helped me learn the game was me trying to figure out what did and did not work and when it did not work beating my head on the screen and trying to figure out why.