What Computer Language is used Most?

Gamers can also use this forum to chat about any game related subject, news, rumours etc.

Moderator: maddog986

Zemke

What Computer Language is used Most?

Post by Zemke »

I have wondered many years about this. There is much discussion of what computer coding language is the best on several web sites, or what compiler or software tools are used, but the discussion always seems to focus on the 3D games out there, which have taken over the market as we all know. Does any one know what language was used to create War in the Pacific, or is being used to create War in the East? Also, what about older war games like HPS Panzer Campaigns or Operational Art of War?

I am no programmer, but I was curious as to what or how games like these are really made, without giving away the farm of course. From most of my reading it seems C++ came up a lot. I suspect it is more than that, perhaps a combination of programing and graphic tools. I have also noticed that, for example WitP:AE really causes my computer to work hard, which I think means my little processor is doing lots of computations. What say you real game programmers out there at Matrix on these questions?
"Actions Speak Louder than Words"
killroyishere

RE: What Computer Language is used Most?

Post by killroyishere »

For me BASIC is still the computer language of choice since it's the only one I know.

1. Get data
2. if x = {} then 3:end
3. goto 1

[:D]
Arjuna

Post by Arjuna »

We use C++ for all game coding. We used Basic for a quick and dirty front end to our in-house Estab editor, but otherwise it's C++. The reason being that in 1995 when we started work on this project, it was the best out there for power and speed. Today you could try C#. It has inbuilt persistence ( ie you don't need to write your own database classes, like we had to, and it has inbuilt garbage collection. But it lacks multiple inheritance and we really use that.
Dave "Arjuna" O'Connor
www.panthergames.com