afghanistan/pakistan

Post discussions and advice on TOAW scenario design here.

Moderators: JAMiAM, ralphtricky

general_solomon

afghanistan/pakistan

Post by general_solomon »

I am looking for a toaw3 user created map of afg and pak.

i am new to the game, so how tough would it be to create one large map with 2.5k hexes.
Dr. Foo

RE: afghanistan/pakistan

Post by Dr. Foo »

It depends on how much level of detail you want. When I create a map I do not like the map to be cluttered. I tend to only place major cities, roads, ports, airfields, and rail lines. Of course, I try to get the topography as correct as possible. I find that the Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection to be an excellent resource for map making.

http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/

I start with the outline of the map and then place terrain, roads, cities and features. Sometimes maps take hours to make, sometimes days or even weeks depending on how much time I put into it and the size of the map.

Are you creating a full map of both countries or just the border region?
*Warning: Dr. Foo is not an actual doctor.
Do not accept or follow any medical advice*
general_solomon

thanks for the input, i would like to map all of afghanistan and most of pakistan. 

I want to create the soviet afghan war, post war civil war, northern alliance vs taliban(rise of taliban), us vs taliban, taliban vs pakistan army.

i would like to make the hex as small as possible with the shortest time allowed per turn.

all ideas are welcome.  also i would like to have alot of detail in the maps.
hellfish6

Post by hellfish6 »

I'm currently doing Central America at 5km a hex and it's a massive undertaking... doing all of Afghanistan and Pakistan at 2.5km/hex would be a hell of an accomplishment. I'd strongly suggest you look more at 10 or 25km a hex and see how that goes first.
Dr. Foo

Post by Dr. Foo »

ORIGINAL: hellfish6