New Recruit

New Recruits check in here! Vets debate the fine points! Tactics discussion, FAQ and "how-to" help.
If you are new to the SP:WaW community post an introduction please!

Moderator: MOD_SPWaW

OldJubilee

New Recruit

Post by OldJubilee »

Hello All!

I'm new to SPWAW, but I did play the original Steel Panthers, and the one with the postwar theme (SPII?)

Anyway, my question regards FOs...Does the use of FOs merely increase the accuracy of artillery, or does it decrease the delay time before the actual FFE? I mean, as opposed to just using a platoon commander to call in the arty.

I have problems using artillery effectively in general. I tend to use direct fire weapons such as the SP guns, since I seem to have more control over these than indirect fire. My grasp of basic armor and infantry tactics is fairly sound, it's just that darned arty that gives me fits!

Anyway, great game...love it! Hopefully soon I'll feel I am ready to compete online....
"Lice are like Russians..kill one and ten more take its place."
Goblin

Post by Goblin »

The FO will both increase the speed (super fast!) and the accuracy, although the latter only happens if he can see the rounds dropping. Another way to speed up arty and use it effectively is using the shift fire button in the arty screen. A red circle will appear, and you can shift to anywhere in that circle. This is much faster than replotting the guns. Each time you shift in a turn, it slows the arrival time of the rounds. If you only shift once or twice, the rounds still come real quick with an FO.

Goblin- A Goblin says FO's are invaluable:)

PS-Welcome aboard and good hunting
OldJubilee

Post by OldJubilee »

Thank you, sir! I'll surely give it a whirl!
"Lice are like Russians..kill one and ten more take its place."
Goblin

Post by Goblin »