The possibilty of manipulation

Empires in Arms is the computer version of Australian Design Group classic board game. Empires in Arms is a seven player game of grand strategy set during the Napoleonic period of 1805-1815. The unit scale is corps level with full diplomatic options

Moderator: MOD_EIA

trw2264

The possibilty of manipulation

Post by trw2264 »

I have been a big EiA fan since 1986, when I first purchased the game and in the past I have spent untold evening playing EiA. I have been reading the forums and the constructive criticism of the game. I am not a programmer, just an accountant, so I know next to nothing about designing a computer game. There are bugs and the Matrix team is addressing those bugs. As with anything we all think that we can make something a little better etc.

Currently, I own the Matrix EiA game and I am in several games that are at different stages. I did not buy EiA to play against the AI, I bought the game to play against other human opponents. As with any game there is the chance of hacking, exploiting, etc. But I am involved in a PBEM game were one player accused another player of cheating and posted this argument on the AAR report section. A gentlemen that helped to design Matrix’s EiA posted on the AAR that it is possible for an individual to use a copy and paste function to replay a turn before you send that turn to others. I found this to be very troubling because it can be easily done I guess.

This is a game that many of us will spend our valuable time playing and plotting, but now to find out that the game results can be manipulated in such an easy manner has greatly decreased my desire to play. People will post on here that you need to have more trust and that people sometimes find ways to exploit in any game. From an accounting perspective, internal controls are put into place to decrease risk and to, eventually catch foul play.