Looking for strategy games without chores

Gamers can also use this forum to chat about any game related subject, news, rumours etc.

Moderator: maddog986

Jonathan Palfrey

Looking for strategy games without chores

Post by Jonathan Palfrey »

I started playing wargames in the 1960s, when they were relatively short and simple. Since then, games have got long and complicated, alas. Most modern games require players to spend their time on tedious chores that a real-life commander-in-chief would sensibly delegate to subordinates.

Are there any games these days designed for players who have jobs and families; who want a game that can be played to completion in a short period of time (say, half an hour to two hours?); who want to spend their playing time thinking about grand strategy and not fussing around with minor details?

I have an interest in the American Civil War, so I bought Forge of Freedom when it came out. This game has the praiseworthy aim of offering different levels of complexity: a Basic game, an Intermediate game, and an Advanced game. You can even turn individual rules modules on and off.

However, the implementation of this idea is shaky. Take supply, for example. In Forge of Freedom, you can turn the supply rules on or off. If you turn them on, you're deeply involved in supply management chores. If you turn them off, units can rampage all over the map without needing supply lines.

The sensible chore-free way of handling supply is that units should be able to trace supply lines or suffer penalties; this doesn't involve the player in any work because it's all handled automatically by the game. Unfortunately Forge of Freedom doesn't provide this option.

The end result is that the Forge of Freedom Basic game still involves too much work for my liking, while failing to simulate the war adequately.