Unit Descriptions: Air, Naval, Land

World in Flames is the computer version of Australian Design Group classic board game. World In Flames is a highly detailed game covering the both Europe and Pacific Theaters of Operations during World War II. If you want grand strategy this game is for you.

Moderator: Shannon V. OKeets

mlees

RE: Need help!!!

Post by mlees »

Efficiency and clarity in communications require the use of simple and consistent unit designations.

Each country had it's own way to abbreviate type-unit names, and each major branch of the military (Army/Navy/Airforce) may be distinct from each other, as well.

http://www.history.navy.mil/branches/squades.htm for USN (aviation) designations.

Army and marine ground unit designations can get even tougher for me, since my background is USN. But I know that the US Marines can abbreviate a unit with just numbers: 1/1st, for example, which (I think) means 1st Brigade, 1st Marine Division.

Hopefully, someone smarter on the ground side can step in an shed more light here.

But anyways, that's just the US. Each country had it's own system.
hueglin

Post by hueglin »

ORIGINAL: Mziln

What determines if an aircraft is a "Fixed wing" aircraft or not?
Does this go back to the time when the U.S. Navy used many "Lighter than Air" craft?

I'd always heard the term "fixed wing" in comparison to the term "rotary wing" i.e. helicopters, or later, "variable wing" e.g F-14. So I think it literally is an aircraft that has a fixed 'non-moving' wing.

Although I also think that "variable wing" aircraft are often included in the same category as "fixed wing".

I'm not sure "fixed wing" was a term that was actually in use during WWII or not.

I am not 100% on any of this, just the assumptions I have made over the years.
davidc

Post by davidc »

Captain.
If you have some room on one of the Hungarian units perhaps you would like to include this.