The Poor Start Position

Advanced Tactics is a versatile turn-based strategy system that gives gamers the chance to wage almost any battle in any time period. The initial release focuses on World War II and includes a number of historical scenarios as well as a full editor! This forum supports both the original Advanced Tactics and the new and improved Advanced Tactics: Gold Edition.

Moderator: Vic

O.O. Howard

The Poor Start Position

Post by O.O. Howard »

Friends,

There are start random map positions with very poor production opportunities, and against AI++ it is hard. Rivers, mountains, and most of all lakes combine to choke off expansion. Having just got the game lately I am not an expert at quick expansion. I am not even good at quick expansion in games that I have played for years. There are other people here who can speak to that problem far better than I.

Yet, I can offer my very conservative strategic 'insight' to you. This is philosophic advice and doesnt apply well once you have gotten things going your way and you are producing plenty and running over your enemy. You may not even need my advice, but I feel like writing it today. [:)]

First observe the choke points on the map. Instead of thinking that starts like this are bad, I look at capturing those points and employing engineers to dig short fortified lines across them. Don't worry so much about production at start, instead be thankful for and take advantage of such a good defensible position. Man the forts with SMG infantry, some machine guns. No trucks, no tanks. Very cheap! Add whatever else you need, like anti tank guns, etc. Put a battery of artillery behind it if a strong force approaches. AI++ cannot break through a fortified line. They lose many troops when they try.

With such a secure base of production you can watch the enemy and pick your fight.