SPWAW Encyclopedia

Trade tips and tricks, workarounds maps, and graphics mods. Why certain scenarios or campaigns are favorites, or how to improve stinkers. Attach your work to share/critique.

Moderator: MOD_SPWaW

freddiefly

SPWAW Encyclopedia

Post by freddiefly »

My great interest has always been historical Armoured warfare and armoured vehicles. Sometimes I cringe a little at the missing or incomplete entries in the encyclopedia. I am not a programmer and know little about the actual components of the game. But I would be willing to update the encyclopedia if there was an easy way to do this.
I realise this is a huge commitment but, as I spend 5 weeks on a ship and then 5 weeks on break I do have some time to put into it. I would really like to give something back to a game which has been on my hard drive (in one form or another) since SP1.
So are there any tools which would allow me to easily update the enc??

regards
Freddie
FlashfyreSP

RE: SPWAW Encyclopedia

Post by FlashfyreSP »

No tools required other than a basic text editor, like MS's Notepad.
The ENC entries are written in a simple ASCII text, no formatting; the * character is used to indicate Line Breaks (Carriage Return) and tells the game to move to the next line, or adda blank line if this character is the only one in that text line.

There is a limit to the number of characters the ENC file can display; some experimentation may be needed to get them to appear completely in the game.