Immediate attacks?

Norm Koger's The Operational Art of War III is the next game in the award-winning Operational Art of War game series. TOAW3 is updated and enhanced version of the TOAW: Century of Warfare game series. TOAW3 is a turn based game covering operational warfare from 1850-2015. Game scale is from 2.5km to 50km and half day to full week turns. TOAW3 scenarios have been designed by over 70 designers and included over 130 scenarios. TOAW3 comes complete with a full game editor.

Moderators: ralphtricky, JAMiAM

Glorfindel

Immediate attacks?

Post by Glorfindel »

Hello! I am a complete newbie so this is probably a stupid question....

When I play the Korea-tutorial a strange thing happens: sometimes after having put the mouse-cursor over an enemy unit and the attack cursor appears and I press the right mouse button the attack is carried out right away ,that is, there is no window with the menu to choose Single Unit Attack and Single Group Attack, limited attack, plan attack etc? I have tried reloading on a number of occasions and sometimes the menu appears and sometimes the attack comes right away without me having any chance to set the conditions?! Is this a bug or have I misunderstood something here?[&:]

Thanks in advance!
JAMiAM

RE: Immediate attacks?

Post by JAMiAM »

This is what is called a "retreat before combat". Do a search on the term in the manual, to get more information on what causes this effect. Hope you're enjoying the game![:)]
hank

Post by hank »

I don't think its a bug.  I'm a newb too but I think if you have a strong unit you're going to use against a defending unit that has a low defensive rating; they run or retreat one hex back because they have no way of defending effectively.  (I'm sure there's other factors involved like terrain, etc.  ... I'm sure others will chime in soon)