The Newbs (sort of) - ny59giants stay OUT!

Post descriptions of your brilliant successes and unfortunate demises.

Moderators: wdolson, Don Bowen, mogami

sanch

The Newbs (sort of) - ny59giants stay OUT!

Post by sanch »

Background.

I've been playing for less than 1 1/2 years, always as Allies. While a true newbie, I tried a pbem against string, and got obliterated. So I've been playing against the AI, and am starting to do ok.

Mr. ny59giants has been playing against the AI as Allies, but has never played a pbem. So I volunteered to play Japan against him. Standard Scenario 15.

He's never played pbem, so I'm guessing he's not prepared for the amount of violence a pbem player can produce compared to the AI. Offsetting that, I've never even looked at playing Japan, with its truly inscrutable production system. Further, we're doing 2-day turns, which I've never done before. So, it should be relatively balanced.

Strategy.

Gotta have one. So here it is:
1. Grab the SRA as fast as I can.
2. Conclude operations in the PI as fast as I can.
3. The holy grail. Gotta have one of those too. So its Noumea for me. Which implies that after 1 and 2, its out to the islands.

Setup, House Rules, etc.

I get free start (non-historical setup), and the Allies will do no moves on turn 1. Sub doctrines off, and 2-day turns.

Only 2 house rules:
1. No more than 4-ship ASW tf's.
2. Don't wildly overstack air bases.

sanch

RE: The Newbs (sort of) - ny59giants stay OUT!

Post by sanch »

12/7/41, 12/8/41

KB goes to Manila! Further, every transport I can lay hands on loads up and goes to places such as Brunei, Jolo, Tawi Tawi, and so on. I even send forces to Lae, Lunga, Buna, Finschafen and Kavieng, and even Baker. I do the standard things in Malaya.