Thousand-Mile War Scenario... AI?

Please post here for questions and discussion about scenario design, art and sound modding and the game editor for WITP Admiral's Edition.

Moderators: wdolson, MOD_War-in-the-Pacific-Admirals-Edition

Jace11

Thousand-Mile War Scenario... AI?

Post by Jace11 »

I'm pretty new to WITP:AE.

I've played the smaller scenarios against the AI: Coral Sea, Guadalcanal and Thousand-Mile War. Having won Thousand-Mile War as Japan, I got to see the enemy dispositions at the end. I was shocked / disappointed to see he had BBs, CAs, a CVE and many other useful vessels in Dutch Harbour that he never sortied with.

I have since played it from the Americans and also watched a CPU v CPU game and noticed no sub patrols or sorties other than the odd supply convoy and the scripted landings by the US on the two japanese held Aleutian Islands.

Is AI broken for this? If so, how to fix or improve its use of assets. The Japanese get two CVs around 3 weeks into the scenario, they should maybe leave port at least once...? Also the non-existant sub patrols vex me...
Jace11

RE: Thousand-Mile War Scenario... AI?

Post by Jace11 »

Right,

I have attempted to fix / improve the AI for the stock SCENARIO of THE THOUSAND MILE WAR, (SCEN 005). Limited though my experience is, I read the editor pdf and had a go. I have tested this in AI vs AI and it seems all scripts are working. The only script I couldn't get to work was sub-minelaying. Not sure why this was not working - so it isn't present in this version.

This replaces files for stock scen005, so if you want to keep that for PBEM purposes please backup original or even renumber the files in the attached zip from ****005 to a free slot you have.

If you try it, let me know thoughts.

Edit... New Version Dated 12/09/12

Changes:
--------------------------------------------------------
As I understand it Thousand-Mile War is essentially a "what if" scenario.