Suggestions for Paratrooper Strategy

Share your best strategies and tactics with other players by posting them here.

Moderator: MOD_PanzerCorps

anorthrop

Suggestions for Paratrooper Strategy

Post by anorthrop »

Ok, first of all I'm a new user, so greetings to everyone! I am a Panzer General veteran and have played each sequel and I must say that Panzer Corps is an amazing game! I was wondering if I could get some strategy advice from some of the wargamers out there.

1) Paratrooper usage- I find that I have difficulty keeping my paratroopers alive in Panzer Corps. I usually try to drop them near an enemy airfield that will be useful for me in the near future. They usually end up getting mauled by tanks and infantry and fail to complete their objectives.

Lately I have been dropping them very close to my advancing troops with the hopes of keeping them alive. The problem is they quickly fall behind and I have to march them to an airport to get loaded again. Do you have any strategies to keep paratroopers alive on long distance drops or is it just plain suicidal to drop them way ahead of your ground forces?

terje439

RE: Suggestions for Paratrooper Strategy

Post by terje439 »

I drop mine at the rearmost NON-objective city. Also remember to drop them 3 hexes away from the city, so they are not spotted by any Inf guarding it.
Next turn, move them in and take the city, and prepare to dig in.
It also helps if you can spare a 3-5star level bomber to aid them for the first three turns.

Terje
"Hun skal torpederes!" - Birger Eriksen

("She is to be torpedoed!")
planner 3

Post by planner 3 »

I also agree with terje439, never closer than 3 hexes, any nearer and they are hamburger meat for the infantry or whatever is guarding.[;)]
"As Pogo said, 'We have met the enemy and he is us' "
RPKUPK

Post by RPKUPK »