Using only one Front HQ

Share your gameplay tips, secret tactics and fabulous strategies with fellow gamers here.

Moderators: Joel Billings, Sabre21

beender

Using only one Front HQ

Post by beender »

As a newbie I am wondering if this idea will work, namely, attaching all armies to one front HQ.

The cons for this practice is obvious: probably all leader checks on front level will fail, due to overloading.

The good side includes:
No battle will suffer inter-front penalty;
Air forces will always engage because now every airbase and army will share the same front;
Free all your good front commanders to fill in spots like shock armies, Zhukov, Rokossovosky, Konev, etc.;

Seems to me like there are more advantages. Of course the initial AP cost will be prohibitive but can do it gradually and most Soviet units come first under STAVKA so I suppose in mid-1942 most active armies can be attached this way.
EwaldvonKleist

RE: Using only one Front HQ

Post by EwaldvonKleist »

Good Idea, thought about the same probleme (in a less consequent way).
One more advantage: You don't need to reaattach armies to new front when shifting the focus, therefore reduced AP cost.

Possible improvement: Do not use fronts at all. If they are so redicolously overloaded, they nearly have a 0% chance to succeed while STAVKA can't be overloaded. But if there is no Front between the army and the STAVKA, STAVKA counts as a second level army so it has a better base multiplier.
So army-STAVKA with Shukov ist probably better than army-very overloaded Front-STAVKA with Shukov.

Telemecus

Post by Telemecus »