Gamers Generation.....

Gamers can also use this forum to chat about any game related subject, news, rumours etc.

Moderator: maddog986

Footslogger

Gamers Generation.....

Post by Footslogger »

We are literally the first generation of gamers. I have been playing computer games for 30 years. How about you?
Phatguy

RE: Gamers Generation.....

Post by Phatguy »

I did have one of those mail order kits in '78 or '79 but it worked for about 2 hours before it burned up. Im bad with electrical items...hehehe. Used a trs-80(i think) back in middle school and played something akin to flight sim and a star trek game. All lines and a cassette to boot.It was something like 1980 or so.....I hated(despised might be a better word) computers in college back in the dark ages even though I had a IBM machine......I attempted to play MUDS and failed. Loved the original sim city and a football game which i cant remember the name of on a Mac. Learned Fortran but promptly forgot it.Then denied the existance of computers till Nov 93 when I was home after a nice long stay in the hospital. The old man bought two computers and gave me one and told me to figure it out. Since then i've been making up for lost time...lol

So roughly 30 + years....Jeez i'm an old geezer....
My life is complete. 1000 Matrix posts.....
warspite1

Post by warspite1 »

Probably almost as long as you - albeit with a big break. Started with the Sinclair Spectrum in the early eighties (played Desert Rats a lot) but did not actually get a Personal Computer until 1996! Soon thereafter I got into Civilisation II and Battleground Waterloo and have not really looked back from then.

I actually buy and play very few games, but those I do get into certainly provide value for money! Currently Civ IV, Rome Total War and I have dabled in WITPAE and WITE.

Wargames aside we have a Wii which provides good, clean family fun from time to time.
Now Maitland, now's your time!